Skip to content

Spray paint – a little can go a long way

September 29, 2016
by

If you read our blog semi-regularly you’ve probably already established the division of work between me and the Other Half: he builds and does the things requiring ”heavy lifting”, where as I focus on gardening (not landscaping!), decorating and smaller things like that. I’m not much of a DIY person in terms of bigger building; I can hold a paintbrush and do things that I’m told or instructed to do, but bigger things are outside of my comfort zone. But once in a while I’ll do something small – like what I’m sharing with you today.

We very often on weekend mornings eat breakfast buns – for the lack of a local bakery where I could pick up some fresh ones we buy the vacuum packed semi-ready kind and bake them in the morning. That gives the illusion of fresh buns, which they’re really not. Anyways, in order to bring them to the table we have a basket – a small, red basket to be more precise.

basket-1

We’ve been using this basked for a couple of years already. During the same time I’ve noticed a spot on the kitchen counter as well as a spot on the dining table (in the middle of it, of course) with a slight red discoloration. I’ve been wondering where these spots came from, as they’re impossible to remove; I actually thought some summer I might have stained the spots with some strawberries. Well, that was not the case – it was the basket! If the bottom became wet or even damp it would discharge color and obviously, as I had not noticed it immediately, the color did not come off from where ever it had rubbed off.

Quite annoying and obviously something had to be done! I like the basket, it is a convenient size for this particular purpose (we actually have the same kind in another, neutral color at home). The Other Half had some spray paint cans laying around, so I thought I could paint it. So from thought to implementation!

basket-2

I did this already in the late summer, so it was the easiest option to make use of one of the stumps at the edge of the forest as a location, so I didn’t need to protect any walls or anything else for the matter. I decided that I liked the touch of red on the basket, so I only spray painted the outside.

And honestly the can was a bit on the low side already, so I wasn’t sure if there’d be enough to spray it all around. I wanted to play it safe, as what’s worse than running out of supplies in the middle of the project?

basket-3

I sprayed around three light coats of paint, allowing for about 15 minutes between the layers for drying. In the end I let be basket dry about an hour. And voila! A slightly enhanced basket that will no longer stain my kitchen table nor counters!

basket-5

This has now been in use for some time already and the spray job seems to be holding up nicely; it’s not chipping or rubbing off. Not that I would have expected it to do this either, as the basket is in quite light use only with the important task of holding the breakfast buns on the weekends.

I must say this was a nice little project, so based on this you might see me spray painting a bit more things in the future 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

