Skip to content

Pumpkin anyone?

August 31, 2016
by

It’s already very much fall, even though it’s only the end of August. The mornings are crisp and in the evenings temperatures fall quickly. But as long as the sun shines it’s only a matter of dressing right!

We’ve been enjoying the produce from our vegetable patch all summer long. The biggest success, very much like last few years, has been the salad. I think this year we’ve been eating more salad than any other summer earlier – during our vacation at the Villa I think not a day went by without having salad from our own patch in one form or another. The salad has fared well at home as well, as we’ve several times brought a bag with us on Sunday to enjoy during the week. Now we need to adjust to eating store bought salad – the taste is just not the same.

But the major surprise on the vegetable patch has been the pumpkin I planted, for the first time, this spring. I planted four seeds in two different places, and one set started growing. I should have really taken progress pictures during the summer, but never go from thought to actually doing it. Maybe next year…

Anyways pictures tell more than a thousand worlds, have a look!

I have absolutely no experience in growing pumpkins, so I don’t know how they’re supposed to grow and how you’re supposed to take care of them. I’ve just been watering the plan along with the rest of the vegetables in the spring. It just kept growing and growing and growing. There’s four flowers/pumpkin starts at the moment, but time will tell whether anything actually comes out of them. I don’t think we’ll be getting any big lanterns, but it would be quite cool if they would “grow up” to be recognizable pumpkins. Let’s see what happens in the next month!

On other “growing” news our black raspberries are growing fruit as well! In July I was able to find only one berry start, but now there are several. I don’t know why it bloomed so late, but luckily there were plenty of bees, but considering how low the temperatures are already I’m not too optimistic these would actually be ripe enough for us to eat during the fall. But I will keep looking, maybe I will have a positive surprise!

There are some other crops still coming this year, so I’ll keep you posted in the coming weeks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

