Skip to content

Button up

July 18, 2016
by

Ever since we designed the kitchen we’ve had a less-than-optimal way of hanging our tea towel – you know the towel where you dry your hands, quickly dry a dish, etc. There was really no good place for it to hang, as I’ve wanted to have it easily accessible instead of hiding it behind a door or drawer. So this is how it’s been:

Button -1

Yes, can you believe it! It has been hanging on the drawer handle with a (not so pretty) metal hook. It does the job, but like two years ago this was supposed to be a temporary fix until we come up with something better. Well, nothing better came up, or, better put, we did not get around to implementing anything nicer or better. There was talk about buying different towels, but never got around to it.

That is until the annual summer fair in the village this summer! We’ve talked about getting these types of “button towels” earlier, but hadn’t come across any. Well, let’s be honest, we can’t have been looking that hard 🙂 Anyways, we saw and bought one. See how nicely it hangs on the drawer handle?

Button 0

All nice and pretty! (And no ugly metal hooks involved).

I should have been happy, right? Well, I was happy, but also a lightbulb went off in my head. I could do something similar with minimal effort to my existing tea towers – all that I need is a button, some thread and a needle. Out came my sewing box!

It was quite simple as our existing tea towels had quite long loops for hanging them. I just took some red thread and a spare white button, which I sewed on the “backside” of the towel. The backside is the side, which had the seams on it from the towel edges.

When the existing towel loop was put around the drawer handle and looped around the button the towel was nicely and firmly attached to the handle, and looked really nice! As you can see, in my excitement I did the same trick to a few other tea towels, before running out of appropriate spare buttons.

The only thing I’m left wondering about is what took me so long? Why did I need to buy a new “button towel” before I realized how easily I could have fixed the situation – any time during the last two years! Again a good example of sometimes easy fixes are just too easy for you to realize!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

