Skip to content

Planting season is here!

May 4, 2016
by

Last weekend was the first of May and we were at the Villa to celebrate. Well, we were at the Villa and threw around some decorations, but otherwise it was quite the normal weekend at the countryside.VappuThe weather has gotten unexpectedly warm really quickly. Hard to believe that a month ago it was still snow and ice and the kids were sliding down the hill on sleds. That of course means that the vegetable patch project is starting up again!

If you’ve been reading our blog for longer you’ll know this is an annual theme for me – telling you what we’re growing this year and following and reporting the progress over the summer. There’s always learnings year on year so I’d like to think I’m getting better at this every time. Still every year it’s difficult to decide what to plant.

 Here’s the selection of seeds I started with:

 Vegetable patch 00I had the idea that I would plant some flowers at the edge of the vegetable patch, but in the end there wasn’t space for that: vegetables were more important.

The Other Half did some base work earlier by digging up the top layer of soil, which already had quite a lot of moss growing on it, and replacing it with a nice layer of fresh soil. Nothing better as a starting point than a blank slate:

 Vegetable patch 0Then there was planning of placement: how much space to receive for the potatoes, how to place the stepping stone and the rows for the seeds. I also had a helper as the Girl was quite excited to help with all of the preparations, so it went by fast. 

Then we planted together all of the seeds and closed the rows after putting the seeds in. We left three rows open, as we don’t want the salad all to be ready at the same time but gradually over the summer.

Vegetable patch 3

So what did we plant this year? We have the old familiar ones: salad (will have 5 different types), radish, carrots, chives and parsley. As new this year we’re trying marjoram and pumpkin. We have a tradition of making pumpkin lanterns at Halloween, so let’s see if we could be making them out of our own-grown pumpkins this year!

So things I did this year “differently” as well is I drew a little map in a notebook to remind myself what is planted where and when have I planted what. Also I used some saved ice cream sticks to make tags at the end of each row marking in the vegetable patch what’s planted where.

Now we’ll just have to sit back and wait to see what comes out of all this this year. If the previous years are any reference we should be eating the first things out of the vegetable patch already around mid-summer, not so long off!

Next it’s time to plan the potatoes, maybe next week already… I’ll leave you with a picture of the first flower bouquet of the season, picked for me by the Girl.Flowers

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2016 9:40 am

    Lovely blog. Actually one that I keep coming back for interesting ideas (since I am doing this kind of projects myself). Did you plant the pumpkin already? That requires usually different kind of place than the rest of your seeds…

  2. May 9, 2016 12:00 pm

    Thanks, Miia! I did plant the pumpkin as well already. I’m a lazy gardener… I should have pre-grown the seed before planting to increase the chances, but decided to see how this goes from seed… I planted pumpkin seeds in two places in the middle, among the stepping stones as there’s a bit of “lost space” there. Let’s see what comes of this and what learnings I’ll have for next year!

Leave a Reply

