Skip to content

Enhanced Curb Appeal in 3 Easy Steps

August 18, 2014
by

Curl appeal is something you usually associate with houses not cottages, but for the lack of any better word I can think of I think it well describes the small enhancements we’ve made over the summer to the front porch, a.k.a. entrance porch, of the Villa.

Improvement #1 was adding of a wood carving. We bought this Thai wood carving already 2 or 3 years ago, we can’t even remember when, at a nearby interior design shop. We have some wood carvings at home we’ve brought from Thailand on our trips but we really liked this one as it was, a bit unusually, white in color.
Front porch 3
It was again one of those ad hoc purchase that start’s with a shout of “I love that, I must have it” and then coming home, in this case to the Villa, wondering where in the world will I put this? So it has been traveling around. Originally, when we still had the darker version of the coffee table with glass top in the living room it was there. Once the table was remodeled by the Other Half the carving was in the closet. Then I brought it out to be on top of the dresser in the bedroom. There it sat for at least a year. Until now!

I think already at least a year ago the Other Half started convincing me that we should hang the wood carving outside, above the entrance porch. I was a bit slow in warming up to the idea but now it’s there!
Front porch 2
I love it there! It makes the entrance look so much nicer. I have to say ever since we added it I’ve been smiling every time we drive down the hill and I see it there.
Front porch 1
Improvement #2 was doing something about the shoe mess next to the front door. This is especially a problem in the summer as we have shoes from four people or more just strewn around the front porch. At best I think I counted over 10 pairs of shoes. As no one wants to have memories of a mess I have spared you the picture, just imagine it, I know you can.

Again I was not actively looking to do anything about the situation, even though I was annoyed but the coincidence came into play. I was visiting my Father with the kids and went to a local dime store just to see what they have. And there is was – it was practically calling my name! A nice, simple black metal shoe rack with two shelves. It was perfect for the front porch – no more show mess!
Front porch 5As an additional bonus we can still fit a row of shoes under the rackOf course there is a bit of a learning curve after several years of leaving shoes all over the porch, but I’m confident by next summer everyone will ALWAYS put their shoes nicely in place, right?

Improvement #3 was solving the issue of lack of doorbell. Not that you really need a doorbell at the Villa, you just knock on the door, open it and go in. But this was again something that I found in the same dime store as the shoe rack – this was also calling my name. A cute little iron bell!
Front porch 6
Perfect for next to the Villa front door, so in case a random guest wants to ring the bell instead of just knocking on the door or opening the door.
Front porch 4
So with these three improvements I think the “curl appeal” of the Villa has increased tremendously! What do you think?

Comments are closed.

