Skip to content

Ship Ohoi!

July 12, 2014
by

Every summer a terrace is built is a good summer.

I built a floating island this year. It consists only of boards from the terrace that I de-assembled in front of the guest cottage. The project is quickly done in half a day and starts from screwing together the frame.

20140709_095707s

Next step is to screw on the recycled terrace boards.

20140709_105617s

Then you have to flip the whole thing around to make the float float. Typically, one can buy ready air-tight plastic containers that make docks swim. But since they are 69 Euro a piece (at Bauhaus) and I would need two pieces, I decided to improvise a bit. I’m using 1.5 litres water bottles from Lidl, the German discounter. I haven’t been collecting enough of those for the float but I hoped that 32 pieces will keep it over the waterline when the kids stand on it. The bottles are being held into place by a chicken wire screwed on the bottom of the frame.

20140709_122056s

The last thing to attach is what every good ship needs: an anchor. I’m using a simple concrete block attached with the left-over chains from the rain gutter project.

20140709_124144s

And indeed, the float stays above the waterline, also when the kids are on top of it. I can stand on it myself in the middle. The 80 litres of air in the bottles create a decent buoyancy when I stand on them with my 80+ kg weight but when I shift my weight to one side it sinks. Well, it’s not for me but for the kids. It will survive the summer and in the winter I can return the Lidl bottles and collect my 12 Euros deposit. Until then it is: Ship Ohoi!

20140711_142820s

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 5, 2014 7:22 am

    Dear Peter and Jenni,
    Very nice and interesting blog you have. Please keep on writing. We live in a loghouse that look similar to yours, with the main exception being that it is located in Moscow neighborhood, so its surroundings are not exactly the same; nevertheless, many ideas that you presented can be applied here and thank you for sharing them in your blog. I have a specific interest in one point: how do you level the support beams when the logs are settling down with time? Would you do it yourself or it’s a job for professionals from MammuttiHirsi? Can you please cover this topic in one of your posts? Thanks!
    Victor

Leave a Reply

