Skip to content

When this comes down…

May 29, 2012
by

… then I can pick up the pieces from the gravel under the villa.

I built this lamp last winter as one of my garage projects. It was meant to hang over the dining table. But after carrying this beast into the dining/kitchen room I figured that it looked way too massive. It is made from massive logs left over from the guest cottage project. To find a new location was an easy task as I still hadn’t figured out how to light up the living room with its 5 meters high ceiling. That’s where the lamp is hanging now. Lifting the lamp up wasn’t exactly a light-weight exercise. And if this thing ever comes crashing down, it’s going to smash straight through the wooden floor and the insulation below it. Well, I hope it never comes to this.

One day went into attaching the panels in the open space of the living room. Climping from 2.5 to 5 meters above the floor and jumping from one scaffolding to another was a little circus act but I’m rather glad about the result.

The open space in the living room is now kind of ready. I even spent some hours on the finishing touches and doing the first ever cleaning of the windows (at least the inside). Kind of brighten up things…

I just hope I don’t need to change the halogen spots too often. Putting up the scaffolding for half an hour to change a lamp ain’t very fun, but that’s the cost of tailored villa.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2012 8:26 pm

    Wouldn’t a system of pulleys have allowed you to raise and lower it for changing bulbs? Of course, if you put LEDs up, you’ll never have to change them! Looks fab, by the way.

  2. May 30, 2012 9:14 am

    Mark, I gave the pulley system a serious thought. I still do think about it. I couldn’t find a nice pulley. I’ve been looking for a nice antique one. Something that has been (or could have been used in an old sail boat) but couldn’t find any online that allows for some reasonable thick rope. And I’m a bit hesitant on the rope system as it needs to run along the wall. But I’m still curious about the concept even that I’m not sure how to let the electricity cable move up and down as well. Good potential for version 2.0.

Leave a Reply

